Vegan ‘White’ Mac n’ Cheese

So, as you may be aware, I’m on a journey to becoming fully vegan and so, whenever I make new meals, I’d often take a photo of it (just to keep track). Well, I made vegan mac n’ cheese. 

I must say, thanks to Nature’s Way (located in the BVI) for providing these vegan ingredients. I don’t have an exact recipe (it’s made by scratch through guesswork) but I have the ingredient and basic method in making the one you see above.

Here are the ingredients:

  • Macaroni (already cooked)
  • A half of a Yellow Pepper (sliced)
  • A small Cubanelle Pepper (sliced)
  • Vegan Shredded Mozzarella Cheese (I used Daiya Dairy-free and Soy-free)
  • Almond Milk (use the original unsweetened version to be on the safe side. I used the Vanilla Almond milk because I never had the original, but it worked out just fine for me).
  • A little Corn Starch
  • Water
  • Chopped Garlic and Green Onions if desired
  • Vegan Butter (Earth Balance)

Of course, you start by sauteeing the garlic and spring onions. I removed the seasoning then prepared the sauce. What I did with the almond milk is prepare a sauce with it by mixing a slurry (cornstarch and water) and thickening the milk. After it was thickened, I added the seasoning and the peppers, then I let the peppers cook for a while before adding the macaroni. I sprinkled a bit of paprika, salt, and pepper, then I proceeded to add a handful of shredded cheese and a half tablespoon of butter and mixed it until the cheese was completely melted.

20170126_200609.jpg
Close up of the macaroni and cheese

20170126_200816.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

