‘Deep’ Fried Anything

Do you love the taste of fried food? Are you vegan? Well, I have just the thing for you. Surprisingly, I found out that ‘Shake n’ Bake’ is very much vegan, and thus I went on a fried food tirade. Except for one thing — I had no idea what to use to replace egg wash for binding. I did some quick googling and learned how to make a slurry for almond milk. One cup of almond milk and a slurry made with one teaspoon of cornstarch and two tablespoons of almond milk worked wonders.

What I did was make the slurry with cornstarch and the milk, then heated on the stove one cup of almond milk while slowly adding the slurry. I stirred it until the milk came to a boil and it was thick enough to act as a binder for my Shake n’ Bake.

I fried the Cubanelle peppers first, which was quite simple. I just dipped it in flour, then in the almond milk wash, then in the Shake n’ Bake, dipped it in the wash again and then in the Shake n’ Bake and then put it in hot canola oil to fry. I turned it a couple time, just enough to get crisp and then I had the perfect fried comfort food.

I did it again, this time with carrots. I wanted to make some ‘carrot stick fries’ and thus, I sliced the carrots into strips and did what I did with the peppers.

It was the perfect thing. I even made a dipping sauce to go along with it. I made the dipping sauce with Dijon mustard, barbecue sauce, sweet chili sauce, and vegan mayonnaise (Grapeseed Oil Vegenaise). I added a little almond milk in the sauce along with ground cayenne pepper. I mixed it together and made a dipping sauce.

Fried Carrot Sticks
‘Carrot Fries’ to perfection complete with dipping sauce

Carrot Fries

Leave a Reply

